How Hotel Sales Can Achieve More On Twitter

In our previous blog, Twitter 101 for the Hotel Community, we covered Twitter from 10,000 feet which included the basics from creating an account to tips and etiquette. 

While I was visiting Twitter the other day something struck me that I thought was very odd from a marketing perspective…how many hotels we follow (we are in the groups business and a prospect for any hotel that has guest rooms and meeting space) and how many of those hotels that don’t follow us.

So let’s assume that you’re in the hotel business and you want to use Twitter as a marketing tool.  First you should establish some objectives as you attempt to build your brand and network on Twitter.

Ask yourself the following questions.

  1. What is my brand’s/hotel’s expectations?
  2. How much time do I need to devote to Twitter?
  3. What’s the best approach to connect with this community?
  4. Who is our target audience?
  5. What’s my hotel’s “personality” and how do I convey that?
  6. How will I grow our customer-base?
  7. What type of information should I share?
  8. How do I measure my success?
  9. What turns a prospective customer off?
  10. How do I effectively balance “sell” and “tell”?

If you have yet to develop a marketing game plan for Twitter you can check out these great resources that will help you to make your Twitter time more productive. 

Leave a comment